Believing the Best

How much do I want to believe the best of people? Very much, when so much blood, sweat, and tears have gone into sustaining this career.

Simply put, I don’t want to let my students down. I want to do right by them. I have to arm them with content knowledge that they can bust out when needed, wherever life takes them.

This job may not always validate me and my ego in the way that I want or need, but it is where I am, and I’m grateful to be doing it in light of the fact that there are so many other things that I would NOT rather be doing (for example, nursing – I do not have the tough psychological fibers in my soul for that profession).

I need to cut myself a break the first week back at work. My body is tired from waking up at 5 each day and my mind is exhausted from dealing with teenagers. There are some awesome kids, some aggravating ones, and most are just looking for some direction and/or things that they can use. Others are total ball busters.

Leave a Reply

