Another Mind Blowing Moment

IMG_9446.JPG

This morning during my commute I thought of Sister Souljah and her fabulous book, The Coldest Winter Ever. I gave this book to a former student about seven years ago…(2007?) and never got it back. I actually missed the book (it was a personal, not a school book) but wrote it off as a karmic gift, paying it forward in the name of advancing literacy and female empowerment.

I reflected on the student, who was urbane, sassy, and left in my mental archive of Ghosts of Students Past.

Fast forward to today, December 5, 2014. A brunette with the same face was sitting in front of me. It was HER!!

She’s back as a para. I recounted the memory and told her she was on my mind this very morning, and why. She apologized for stealing the book and was equally mind blown that I’d just been thinking about her.

I told her to consider it a gift. I’ll hit up Amazon for a replacement copy.

Leave a Reply

