Group Work, Mandated

          I’m not a fan of regular group work in the classroom, but I’ve regularly worked with adminstrators who are. Suffice to say, group work is part of my curriculum (until I can’t take the noise anymore and am burned out from the chaos). 

          After a couple of walk throughs, my AP has mandated that I change my class setup from desks in rows into either a horseshoe shape or groups of four. I chose the latter. She is also mandating that I shorten the free writing/conversation portion of the class, due to it being dominated by five or six class leaders. I see this as water rising to its own level, but whatever. Inclusion at the expense of talent? Who knows. I can take direction and work under a supervisor. 

          My coworker thinks that things are great as they are and that we currently have great student to student interaction, which we do. However, it’s not what “they” want. 

          It’s quite aggravating as a teacher to come to expect professional autonomy and instead find micromanagement, but I’ll keep an open mind about today’s directive and post an update later on about how it goes. 

          

          Leave a Reply

