Back on the Clock

…and according to a memo I’m to sign tomorrow, I’ve accrued 12 hours of lateness this year. This is because I put 80 miles on my car each day and, despite the fact that I wake up at 5 and am on the road by 6, traffic is what it is.

I can’t make any additional tweaks to my morning schedule. If I could, I would. 

Who knows if I can buy the time back. The DOE is always making deals with people regarding time, trying to get people to retire early or maximize per session earnings. 

The UFT rep is once more blowing up my phone all day, trying to get me to come in early to go over my appeal for Wednesday. I can’t, not enough time to go to downtown Brooklyn after work with my hours. I don’t really have much faith in their process and only filed it after union urging, predicated on a technicality involving the timeline of last year’s observations (three or four negative ones within the last two weeks of the school year). I can’t pursue the appeal with optimism and vigor, because I’m a realist. Also, there are only so many hours in a day. Nonetheless, we’ll see which way the wind blows on Wednesday.

Aside from the administrators moving forward with their punative filings, I gave a test with my coworker today, graded it, and calculated final averages for the marking period for approximately 150 students. Tomorrow and Wednesday the plan is to do group work comparing Animal Farm to the Russian Revolution using primary source historical documents. Then Friday and next week we’ll do a critical lens essay. 

Leave a Reply

