Carolinas to Jacksonville

Short trees alongside 

Roadkill highway 

The trees get shorter

Then morph into palms

Air gets sweeter

I start melting into the sun

Like this Hershey’s chocolate bar

With almonds I can’t put down 

Manners take me further

Than the gas mileage on my Nissan

Which is pretty far to start.

Daybreak arches through scattered 

Pink clouds, bathing my brain 

With its pink light.

I’ll take a complimentary breakfast

Then fill my tank for 1.25 a gallon

At the Kangaroo gas mart

The hotel was sketchy 

But the road is sweet.

Copyright, Maria Castelli, 2015.

Leave a Reply

