Renegade Highway

Today there was a little car
driving in the left lane
at two miles an hour
Then it suddenly stopped

Maybe it ran
out of gas

In front of me with hazards on
and a Jesus loves you but He
loves me better
bumper sticker

I hope Jesus loves you
I surely don’t
As you cause me to hit the brakes
so that I don’t crash into you

I also swerved
and hoped for the best

They say it’s best to be able to
gauge the distance between cars
like a football field
So that you can stop in time
Copyright, Maria Castelli, 2015.

Leave a Reply

